Tomatoes for Days

Specs: While tempted to use the word HUGE, I will say that this mug is worth its milliliters in coffee. The inside is so deep it could easily have been purposed for (dare I say–tomato) soup. The outside of the mug appears to be hand-painted, although the MADE IN CHINA stamped on the bottom makes me dubious. The handle, as shown here, is a tomato on a stem and wide enough for two fingers.

Rating: 4/5 stars. This baby is fabulously adorkable.

Summary: Like a fair number of my mugs, I discovered this little number at the local DI (which stands for Deseret Industries, aka a thrift store owned by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints). I would move out of my home and into my first apartment in a couple weeks for college and I was dizzy with the idea of needing my own things. Beside it on the shelf were its brothers, a POTATO and a CORN mug. Without my favorite fruit at the center, however, the other mugs were simply corny (pun intended). Ever since I was  a little girl, one of my favorite snacks was a tomato, sliced and spread across a plate like a fan, with salt. Guess it’s just another of the million things I picked up from my mother.

Leave a Reply

